Company

We create excellent facades, secure buildings and protect critical infrastructure.

A large number of components and systems developed and produced in-house are used to create customised solutions that combine all aspects of modern facade construction, building safety and security.

SOMMER products and services are "Made in Germany" and will continue to be so in the future. With more than 460 employees, we cover the entire value-added process from product development to production at our Hof/Bavaria site.

SOMMER at a glance

3
Business areas: Facade, Building and High Security
150
Project p.a.
130
Years plus, founded 1890
30
Apprentices
459
Patents and certificates
465
Employees
4
Family business in 4th generation
30
Project countries
75
Million € turnover p.a.

We map the entire value chain - under one roof - in the following disciplines:

Our strategic business areas complement each other and, taken together, mean unique added value for our customers.

Façade construction

We make the seemingly impossible possible. Contemporary architecture thrives on innovative ideas and forward-looking visions - SOMMER makes them a reality. We implement individual façade designs in all object sizes and functional dimensions in a technologically and aesthetically fascinating way.

Building security

Innovative out of passion. With several decades of experience, SOMMER stands for building security at the highest level of technical development. Our maxim: The protection of people in their working and living environment as well as the object and use-specific security of buildings.

High security technology

Terror and hazard prevention. For the most sensitive areas of infrastructurally important facilities such as nuclear power plants, SOMMER provides recognised top performance in physical building protection - from planning to installation.

"Certe" and "Facere" - Certified safety creates trust

List of certifications
DIN EN ISO 9001, ISO 14001, BS OHSAS 18001, EN 1090-1, DIN EN ISO 3834-2, KTA 1401, CEFRI

Awards
HPC Supplier, Großer Preis des Mittelstands, Germany's Best Trainee, etc.

Creating balance - Our management

Oliver Sommer (right)
"Our customers not only benefit from general technological progress. With more than 60 patents and a multitude of certifications, we also demonstrate our own development expertise in the business fields of façade construction, building security and high security technology. In the future, too, we will be measured by our innovative strength."

Iris Sommer-Pechstein (centre)
"Ensuring the competitiveness of our company means continuously developing new products, systems and production processes, but also constantly putting existing processes to the test. Our employees play a special role in the company's success. Strengthening their motivation to advance the family business together with them is therefore particularly important to me."

Thomas Minks (left)
"As a medium-sized company, we are able to react particularly flexibly to the wishes of our customers and changing project requirements. Short decision-making processes, creativity and proven problem-solving skills enable us to intervene and act quickly and efficiently."

"The Architects of Security & Protection

Visionary thinking, innovative strength and consistent adherence to excellent product quality - these are the cornerstones on which the success of the family-owned company SOMMER is based. Over the course of more than 130 years, the company has developed into a nationally and internationally sought-after partner in the fields of façade construction, building security and high-security technology.

As early as 1890, Eduard Sommer recognised that security is a fundamental human need and began manufacturing particularly stable doors, gates and grilles. He thus laid the foundation for today's SOMMER company - an internationally recognised specialist for protection systems at the highest level. Now in its fourth generation, the family business is managed - more successfully than ever - by Iris Sommer-Pechstein and Oliver Sommer, the descendants of that Eduard Sommer.

Unternehmen

Wir erschaffen ausgezeichnete Fassaden, sichern Gebäude und schützen kritische Infrastruktur.

Aus einer Vielzahl von selbst entwickelten und produzierten Komponenten und Systemen entstehen kundenindividuelle Lösungen, die alle Aspekte der modernen Fassadenkonstruktion, der Gebäudesicherheit und der Gefahrenabwehr vereinen.

SOMMER Produkte und Leistungen sind „Made in Germany“ und werden es auch in Zukunft sein. Mit mehr als 460 Mitarbeitern bilden wir den gesamten Wertschöpfungsprozess von der Produktentwicklung bis zur Fertigung an unserem Standort Hof/Bayern ab.

SOMMER at a glance

3
Geschäftsbereiche: Fassade, Gebäude- und Hochsicherheit
150
Projekte p.a.
130
Jahre plus, gegründet 1890
30
Azubis
459
Patente und Zertifikate
465
Mitarbeitende
4
Familien­unternehmen in 4. Generation
30
Projektländer
75
Mio. € Umsatz p.a.

Wir bilden die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette ab - unter einem Dach - in folgenden Disziplinen: 

Unsere strategischen Geschäftsfelder ergänzen einander und bedeuten in ihrer Summe einen einzigartigen Kundenmehrwert.

Fassadenbau

Architektur lebt von innovativen Ideen und zukunftsweisenden Visionen – wir lassen sie Wirklichkeit werden. Individuelle Fassadengestaltungen in allen Objektgrößen und funktionalen Dimensionen setzen wir technologisch und ästhetisch faszinierend um.

Gebäudesicherheit

Mit der Erfahrung von mehreren Jahrzehnten stehen wir für Gebäudesicherheit auf höchstem technischen Entwicklungsstand. Unsere Maxime: Der Schutz von Menschen in ihrem Arbeits- und Lebensumfeld sowie die objekt- und nutzungsspezifische Sicherheit von Gebäuden.

Hochsicherheitstechnik

Terror- und Gefahrenabwehr. Für die sensibelsten Bereiche infrastrukturell wichtiger Einrichtungen wie Kernkraftwerken bieten wir herausragende Leistungen im physikalischen Gebäudeschutz - von der Planung bis zur Montage.

„Certe“ und „Facere“ – Zertifizierte Sicherheit schafft Vertrauen

Auszeichnungen
HPC Supplier, Großer Preis des Mittelstands, Deutschlands beste Auszubildende, etc.

Creating balance - Unsere Geschäftsführung

Oliver Sommer (rechts)
„Unsere Kunden profitieren nicht nur vom allgemeinen technologischen Fortschritt. Mit mehr als 60 Patenten und einer Vielzahl von Zertifizierungen stellen wir auch unsere eigene Entwicklungskompetenz in den Geschäftsfeldern Fassadenbau, Gebäudesicherheit und Hochsicherheitstechnik unter Beweis. Auch in Zukunft werden wir an unserer Innovationskraft gemessen werden.“

Iris Sommer-Pechstein (Mitte)
„Die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit unseres Unternehmens zu sichern heißt kontinuierlich neue Produkte, Systeme und Produktionsverfahren zu entwickeln, aber auch bestehende Prozesse permanent auf den Prüfstand zu heben. Einen besonderen Anteil am Unternehmenserfolg haben unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Ihre Motivation zu stärken, mit ihnen gemeinsam das Familienunternehmen voranzubringen, ist mir deshalb besonders wichtig.“

Thomas Minks (links)
„Als mittelständisches Unternehmen sind wir in der Lage, besonders flexibel auf die Wünsche unserer Kunden und wechselnde Projektanforderungen zu reagieren. Kurze Entscheidungswege, Kreativität und ausgewiesene Problemlösungskompetenz ermöglichen ein rasches und effizientes Eingreifen und Handeln.“

Ein Familienunternehmen in 4. Generation

Visionäres Denken, Innovationskraft und das konsequente Festhalten an exzellenter Produktqualität – auf diesen Eckpfeilern gründet der Erfolg unseres Unternehmens, das sich in mehr als 130 Jahren zu einem national wie international gefragten Partner in den Bereichen Fassadenbau, Gebäudesicherheit und Hochsicherheitstechnik entwickelt hat.

Bereits 1890 erkannte Eduard Sommer, dass Sicherheit ein grundlegendes Bedürfnis der Menschen ist und begann mit der Herstellung von besonders soliden Türen, Toren und Gittern. Damit legte er den Grundstein für das heutige Unternehmen SOMMER – einem international anerkannten Spezialisten für Schutzsysteme auf höchstem Niveau. Nunmehr in vierter Generationen wird das Familienunternehmen - erfolgreicher denn je - von Iris Sommer-Pechstein und Oliver Sommer, den Nachkommen jenes Eduard Sommer geleitet.